Vehicle Title and Registration in Gaithersburg
Register and Title Your Vehicle in Maryland in 15 minutes or Less!
Having up-to-date vehicle registration is essential for driving legally in Maryland and in the United States. Vehicle registration proves that you have paid the necessary taxes and fees for your vehicle and that you’re properly insured. If your registration has expired, or if your vehicle isn’t registered at all, you could be facing a fine or even imprisonment. Whether you need to renew you vehicle’s registration or register a new vehicle, the Maryland vehicle registration experts at Motor Car Tag & Title can help. We make a point of serving our Gaithersburg clients in 15 minutes or less.
Maryland Title and Registration Information
Maryland has specific laws regarding vehicle titles and registration. Whether you’re just moving to Maryland or have lived here for decades, you should learn about the state’s registration requirements.
- New Resident Registration: Maryland law requires new citizens to register their vehicles within 60 days of moving to the state. If you go past 60 days, you may be subject to a citation.
- Vehicle Liability Insurance: To register your vehicle, you must have a vehicle liability insurance policy that conforms to Maryland’s minimum insurance requirements. That’s $30,000 for bodily injury per person and $15,000 for property damage.
- Other Considerations: Titling requirements depend on what type of vehicle you have, where you bought it, and whether you plan to use it for commercial purposes. Titling and registration go hand-in-hand, and are often handled together.
Necessary Registration Documents
Before you register your vehicle at Motor Car Tag and Title, you should make sure to have the proper paperwork in order. Here are a few important documents you’ll need.
- Ownership Documents: You must be able to prove that the vehicle actually belongs to you. You can do this with the vehicle title from the previous owner. If you purchased the vehicle from a dealer you must have the original bill of sale. If you purchased the vehicle from a private party, and the vehicle is less than 7 years old, you must have a notorized bill of sale.
- Financial Documents: If you take out a vehicle loan, you should bring lien and lienholder information when getting your vehicle registered. It’s also important to bring payment for the fees and taxes associated with titling and registration.
- Insurance/Inspection Information: Maryland state law takes roadway safety very seriously. You should also bring a Maryland safety inspection certificate and your vehicle’s insurance information when registering your vehicle.
Though vehicle registration and titling may seem complicated, the Maryland vehicle registration personnel at Motor Car Tag and Title make it very simple. If you have any questions about vehicle registration, call our Gaithersburg office at (240) 361-4499.